UPDATE 12-9-19 7:45 pm: Burn ban expires for Kittitas,  Chelan, Douglas, Klickitat and Okanogan counties

UNION GAP – A Stage 1 burn ban in Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas, Klickitat counties and the Methow Valley in Okanogan County will expire at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2019 according to the Washington Department of Ecology.

Additional burn ban information is available at www.ecology.wa.gov/burnbans

Stage 1 burn ban extended in Kittitas and Klickitat counties

11-1-19 2:35 p.m. CENTRAL WASHINGTON – A ban on outdoor burning and the use of uncertified stoves and fireplaces began at 8 a.m. Sunday, Dec. 8, in Okanogan County’s Methow Valley, and for all of Chelan and Douglas counties due to poor air quality in the region. Stage 1 burn ban that began earlier this week in Kittitas and Klickitat counties will be extended. Restrictions on burning will continue through 12 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 11, when conditions will be reassessed.

The Washington Department of Ecology is calling the ban because stagnant conditions are forecast in the region, putting people at risk for unhealthy levels of air pollution. Fine particles from wood smoke can easily get into people’s lungs, causing heart and breathing problems.

Under a Stage 1 ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited, including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts, and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat. Use of cleaner-burning certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices is allowed.

Call 866-211-6284 if you think someone is illegally burning or you are impacted by smoke.

More information

Additional burn ban information is available at http://www.ecology.wa.gov/burnbans.

Ecology’s burn bans do not apply on tribal reservations, where the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has jurisdiction. Call 800-424-4372 for tribal burn ban information or visit EPA’s Washington Burn Ban page.